A Few Things You Need to Know about Clarksdale, MS

There are equal parts hope and despair in Clarksdale, MS but I think hope will win out.  There is color, music, laughter and art in abundance.  Clarksdale Blues are sadder than New Orleans and Baton Rouge blues.  I suspect that isn’t an accident.

I am more interested in days yet to come.  The all knowing eye on the wall of Ground Zero and a piano on a sidewalk remind us to be the change.  The kids with dreads, dogs and a joke for sale may be poor but they hold on to the future with a smile.  Hope is written in the corner of a mural featuring the intersection of Highway 61 (the Blues Highway) and Highway 49.  I choose to believe that the open floor plan in downtown is a project in the works and will soon be something spectacular.

Meanwhile, there are people who live in Clarksdale who do not know who Tennessee Williams is and the dwindling population of over 10 thousand over the past decade hints that those who do have long ago left.  And yet, it has everything – music, art, laughter and soon, I hope, an industry other than selling jokes for a quarter.

~ by julianne2013 on 2014/04/06.

2 Responses to “A Few Things You Need to Know about Clarksdale, MS”

  1. Hi Julianne. After much research and a whole lotta google searching, I stumbled upon your blog. I am from Mississippi, just East of The Delta. Every year I attend Juke Joint Festival. Several years ago, while roaming around downtown, I passed through an alley way to make a shortcut to another main street. As I was walking through this alley, I saw this gorgeous “nook”, as I would call it, with broken window panes, a beautiful paint-chipped, green door, and exposed brick. I have had this image in my head for years now of this alley, but haven’t been able to remember exactly in which side street I found this alley. It just so happens, you have a picture of that nook. You called it “open floor plan”. If you could, by chance, remember where about downtown you found this little gem, I’d greatly appreciate it. I’m wanting to have some professional photos taken there. Thanks so much. I’ve enjoyed your blog, also. Great writing.

    Like

    • Sunny, I see you are lover of fine architecture as I am. Thank you for your kind words.

      I knew where I parked and was walking around and then took a little tour with google maps – street version. My best bet is that it is no 10 3rd Street. In the event that I am incorrect, I have clients there and I am certain that if I showed them a pic, they would know exactly where it is. I had worked all day and parked on second street near a quaint little grocery store about 3 blocks away from Ground Zero. I didn’t drive again that evening so it is not far, I assure you. Good luck and let me see the pics if you ever get them done. A Juke Joint Festival is a good way to spend time.

      Like

Leave a comment